Springfield, Ohio Phil

Name:  Phillip Ray Campbell

Residence:  Springfield, Ohio USA

Age: 52

Profession: Administrator for the Ohio Department of Developmental Disabilities

What are your favorite hobbies or pastimes? Why do you enjoy them?  I love spending time with my family, woodworking, blacksmithing (I like making things), the shooting sports (do I need to explain why that is fun?) and playing with my schnauzers.

When did you first hear about the town of Phil Campbell, Alabama?  I received an invitation to the 2001 gathering from Brooklyn Phil Campbell and was unable to attend. Since then, visiting Phil Campbell, Alabama was on my bucket list.  So when the invitation came in 2011, the offer was too good to resist.  

Were you able to attend the Phil Campbell Hoedown of June 2011?  Yes, I attended with my family.

If you did go to the hoedown, what did you think of the experience? We had a wonderful time and met lots of wonderful people.  I was struck by how hard the people were working to rebuild their town.  Many of the people I met told me their stories and asked if my family and I had a storm shelter back in Ohio.  Considering what they had just been through, their concern for me and my family was very touching.  When I told a resident of Phil Campbell that everyone I have met at the hoedown had been great, they replied “not everyone is here”!

I received much more from the townspeople of Phil Campbell than I could possibly give in a weekend. 

Meeting the other Phil’s was great! The group was diverse with lots of character – all with the same name. We made many new friends that weekend. 

You are a Phil Campbell. What do you think of that name?  I liked being named “Phil” and was used to being the only Phil in the room. It was quite an experience to be surrounded by 21 other Phil’s at the Phil Campbell Hoedown.

Tell us a little about yourself, as many words as you would like.  I was born in Eastern Kentucky and was raised in Ohio. I am married and have 1 daughter (who attended the 2011 hoedown).

And I have two schnauzers (they did not attend the 2011 hoedown).    I work for the Ohio Department of Developmental Disabilities.  I enjoy spending time with my family, woodworking and blacksmithing.  I also enjoy sunsets, walks on the beach, puppies and wish for world peace.

Read about other Phils